10 Reasons Why I miss Philippine Christmas…

Hello again. It’s been a while since I last made a post. Been busy the past few days with finals and all that but here we go again.

It’s that time of the year again. Christmas is fast approaching and many people are out there again doing their shopping and planning their Christmas menu. This is the time when I start to remember the past and contemplate so many things and as my title suggests, this post will be about the reasons why I like Christmas back in my home country. I’m not comparing the Christmas here and back home but I just felt a little homesick because its been 3 years since I left and Christmas is a season where I like to look back at things that happened or the experiences that I had. Sort of reminiscing as I would put it. So here we go.

giphy

1. Christmas is almost forever.

Yeah, almost forever because we celebrate it at such a long time. Philippine Christmas basically starts as soon as the “ber” months come in. So by September, expect that people will start decorating their houses, planning their Christmas shopping and all that holiday shenanigans. And yeah, you will hear Christmas songs on September. Here in Canada, September is basically the start of school so totally different.

d5a16a6ee67ee1183b7196738a9f29b4

2. Dawn Mass

The Dawn Mass or “Misa de Gallo” or in Filipino “Simbang Gabi” is a very respected tradition in the country. It is a part of the Advent celebration in the Catholic calendar and for 9 nights, people will go to church to celebrate the mysteries of the birth of Jesus Christ. You will see every sort of Filipino during this time from devout Catholics to young couples attempting to tryst thinking the night to be too young. Other Filipinos also say that if you complete all 9 days of the masses, your one wish will come true. But overall, these dawn masses bring fun and at the same time I consider them to be a form of meditation and reflecting for all the blessings I have gained and a way of being grateful. A spiritual event so to speak. After the mass, you can enjoy some of the delicacies right outside the church such as “bibingka” and “puto bumbong”.

giphy (1)

3. Christmas Lights

Ah yes. One of the most exciting things about Christmas in my home country are the Christmas lights. Each year, I would remember going around the rich neighborhoods aboard my bicycle every night and watch all the big houses with all their Christmas lights. It looks like a competition between these houses like whoever has the best lights wins. In addition, some of the most renown recreational places and parks in the city have their own lights competition as well. Such is the beauty of these lights that I couldn’t help but just stare at them and just lose myself into them.

993820_684385214935079_1448958736_nkaroling

4. The Variations of Children Choirs

Ah yes. How could I forget? Each year there seems to be a growing number of street kids suddenly becoming great singers. I could not even imagine how can they memorize all these Christmas carols and songs and they are doing this just to get a few coins and bills from each house within my neighborhood. Some kids even make drums and tambourines from unexpected materials such as beer bottle caps and crowns such as the one shown in the picture above. But you couldn’t help but admire these kids. Yes they can sometimes be annoying because honest to goodness, most of them can’t sing but if you get lucky and spot those kids that can actually sing, your heart will just melt.

IMG_5888

5. The Food

Everyone knows how I love food and this is no exception. Christmas in the Philippines literally means “Bloating Season”. You never run out of food. You NEVER ever run out of food. Aside from the food that you will be having in your table come Christmas eve, neighbors will give you all kinds of food. I also bet you that the amount of food that the neighbors will give you is quite enough to last you for two solid months. Believe me, I tried that and I survived.

Spring rolls, dumplings, “pancit”, fish, meats, you name it. You will get your heart’s desire in this one. Or should I say your stomach’s desire. And my tummy just let out a loud rumble as soon as I typed those words. Goes to show.

giphy (7)

6. Christmas Parties

Oh yes yes yes. The countless Christmas Parties. There will be Christmas parties both in schools, offices and even on the streets. Filipinos love parties and of course, the 5th reason will never be absent in Christmas Parties. Dancing, karaoke, eating, drinking, all of it. Christmas parties are just awesome. This is the Filipino way.

giphy (5)

7. Gifts

Filipinos are very generous. I guarantee, even with their own financial crises present, they will never fail to provide you with a gift. Simple or not, everyone will have a gift and make sure that Christmas tree will have a lot of boxes underneath it filled with gifts.

But gift-giving is not at all to satisfy someone who’s longing for it. It’s also something that we appreciate from the other person. The priceless looks in their eyes as they open their gifts is nothing compared to the givers’ reactions as the recipients hug them and say thank you. Those moments are the things that I am heavily missing.

giphy (3)

8. “Millionaire After Christmas” status

The reason why I call it as such is the reason why godparents hide from their godsons and daughters every Christmas. Just kidding. But going back, it has been a tradition for godfathers and godmothers to give some “pamasko” to their “inaanak” or godchildren every Christmas usually in the form of cash gifts. They put these cash gifts in little Chinese envelopes or “ampao” and then hang them in the branches of the Christmas tree for the kids to “pick” like fruits. This tradition has also been picked up from Chinese culture seeing this as a sign of prosperity and more wealth coming in to your family. But whatever tradition it came from, I bet every Filipino would understand this status.

adcc98b2b19bfb082078aea47658bf84

9. “Parol”

The “parol” or the Christmas lantern is the central piece in the Christmas lights decorations and every year I still remember my dad and I buying one together with a set of Christmas lights and we were always the ones who decorate the house while fixing the roof as well. Not only is the lantern a part of the decoration but there are also lantern parades every year such as the one held by the University of the Philippines. The lack of decorations I found during the last 2 years I spent Christmas here makes me remember this.

Friends-say-Merry-Christmas-friends-2964228-762-549

10. Christmas with the Gang

Last but not least, Christmas with friends is something that will always be there may it be long walks or shopping trips or Christmas parties. All of the above reasons are all worth enjoying when you are with friends. It’s been 3 years since I left the country without letting my friends know that I am leaving. I mean it was cruel and rude of me but now I regret it especially now that I am missing them terribly. But I look into a more optimistic point of view and I hope sometime in a few years I could go back and enjoy that type of Christmas as I used to do. Just a little more.

There you have it. I might have been too sentimental about this post but then again, I could not help but miss those times especially during this season. Although I am feeling sad, I feel grateful at the same time because I am very fortunate to experience these types of things during my childhood. Thus in this season of giving and joy, I can only advice you as much. Appreciate what you have. Be grateful of what you receive. Be happy and remember the things that made you what you are right now. Take time to relax and enjoy. Happy Holidays. 😀

giphy (8)

P.S. Zooey’s just adorable isn’t she? 🙂

Leave a comment